I am Gollum and my house is my cave…

If you can’t tell by the title I’ll say this right now. I love to stay home and relax. This includes date nights with my hubby and my baby girl (cuz sometimes you just have to include your baby in date night) (side note she’s included in every date night cuz I don’t trust anyone except maybe 2 people with babysitting her). I’ll admit when we were dating and didn’t have any responsibilities we went out A LOT. But after being together over 7 years, getting married, having a baby, and working over 40 hours a week to pay bills (p.s. being an adult is GREAT, note the sarcasm) it gets tight on the budget to go out all the time. 

So here are some things the hubby and I do for stay in date night (aside from you-know-what):

  • Movie night (obviously). This one is a no brainer. All you have to do is find a show or movie you both like, grab a shit ton of junk food (I’m talking chocolate, candy, popcorn, ice cream, etc.) and just pig out together. Our date night ritual is every Sunday for The Walking Dead, we grab some beer (or other alcoholic beverage) and stuff our faces and cuddle. 
  • Video games. This ones kind of an every night thing at my house… not gonna lie. If we find a 2 player game we both like it’s a miracle so we take advantage of that and it’s part of date night. Otherwise we play this game called “backseat player”. You know the phrase “backseat driver”? Same concept. 
  • Double date BBQ. Or just a regular BBQ. We sometimes like to go to the grocery store and get the best steak, some veggies, and shrimp. During the summer it’s nice to just sit outside and chill.
  • Make your own “gourmet” ice cream. So I don’t know a person in the world that doesn’t love ice cream… like any flavor of ice cream. So all you gotta do is grab your favorite ice cream a shit ton of sweets (I’m talking chocolate, mini marshmallows, everything you’d find as a topping at your ice cream parlor and I’m not talking Baskin Robins I’m talking the expensive stuff). 

There are a whole bunch of other things that you can do at home but to be honest we’ve never done them because after working over 40 hours a week we’re just too lazy and they just require too much work. You wouldn’t believe some of the things I’ve read… like homemade candle making… who does that? If you have the energy and time to do that I give you major props! Me, on the other hand, am very lazy. 
What are some of the things you like to do for date night at home?

Leave a Reply

