My Own Little Island

You know those “get to know you” seminars? And you get asked all of these strange questions like what would you take on a survival journey or what 3 things would you take on a deserted island? Well I have recently been the victim of one of these seminars and was asked that exact question. So I thought “hmm what would I take on a deserted island?” 

So here is my answer:

1: Water purification system 

Obviously I need to think about survival and you can’t survive without water. This deserted island would be in the middle of the ocean and ocean water, if you didn’t already know, is a little bit salty. Making it undrinkable, unless you want to die of dehydration. 

https://www.amazon.com/Katadyn-8013418-Survivor-06-Desalinator/dp/B000F395X0

2: Fire Starter

Aside from keeping hydrated you also need to keep warm and be able to cook. A fire starter would be the second thing on my list. I will be the first to admit that I don’t know anything about starting a fire. I think it’s something about rubbing 2 sticks together or something. 

http://www.priorservice.com/aurora-fire-starter—silver.html?utm_source=google&utm_medium=organic&utm_campaign=comparisonshopping&gclid=Cj0KEQjwicfHBRCh6KaMp4-asKgBEiQA8GH2x1eiIm9or-zOdhP3_KUCM_iQLoF3zQ4YA-Q6CzTPivEaAtT68P8HAQ

3: Seeds for tropical climate vegetables 

I had a hard time choosing this one. I felt as though an ax or knife would be extremely useful but I also feel as though a deserted island might not have much in regards to food (I mean it’s deserted for a reason). I figured I can’t make vegetable seeds but I can make knives out of stones (learned how to do that in my anthropology class).

https://www.seedman.com/tropveg.htm

I realize these items are all about survival and not about entertainment. I am an only child though and spent most of my time indoors, so I feel pretty confident about keeping myself sane and entertained as I try to survive… on a deserted island… in the heat… all by myself… without a phone or TV or human contact…. yeah I’ll probably go crazy in a month or two.

If you were stuck on a deserted island what would you bring?

Leave a Reply

